When the Siren Wailed

When the Siren Wailed

Author: Noel Streatfeild

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781510109919

Page: 208

Download BOOK

After supper everybody collected their belongings and waited for the siren. 'They're late tonight,' somebody ... At that moment the sirens began to wail followed almost at once by the sound of gun fire. Everybody went down the stairs.

A thrilling and moving adventure story about evacuees in World War Two, perfect for readers of Goodnight Mister Tom When war breaks out in September 1939, Laura, Andy and Tim Clark are evacuated to the countryside. The Colonel's comfortable home in Dorset is a huge contrast to their cramped terraced house in London, where their loving parents struggle to put the next meal on the table. Though unused to having children around, the Colonel proves to be a kind and generous, if gruff, guardian until a terrible turn of events means the kids must move on. When they discover they are to live with Miss Justworthy, who is rumoured to feed her evacuees on cat food, Andy insists they can't risk staying. He persuades his sensible older sister and their little brother that they must run away, back to London and their mum. The children are shocked to see London now pitted with craters and ruined buildings. And no sooner have they stepped off the train than the skies are lit by searchlights and filled with the crack of bombs and the glow of fires. How will they be able to find their mum in the middle of an air raid? A brilliantly page-turning read from the author of Ballet Shoes, based on her own real-life experience in the Second World War. Perfect for any child interested in wartime and classic adventure stories.



More Books:

When the Siren Wailed
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Noel Streatfeild
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-02 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A thrilling and moving adventure story about evacuees in World War Two, perfect for readers of Goodnight Mister Tom When war breaks out in September 1939, Laura, Andy and Tim Clark are evacuated to the countryside. The Colonel's comfortable home in Dorset is a huge contrast to their cramped terraced
Suddenly, as the Result of an Accident
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: Edward D. Hill
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher: GeneralStore PublishingHouse

Books about Suddenly, as the Result of an Accident
When the Sirens Wailed
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Noel Streatfeild
Categories: World War, 1939-1945
Type: BOOK - Published: 1974 - Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Rather than stay with a new family, three young evacuees try to return to their home in London after their country host dies suddenly.
Children in the Second World War
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Amanda Herbert-Davies
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-30 - Publisher: Grub Street Publishers

“Stunning photographs” and firsthand accounts propel a book that “brings together the memories of more than 200 child survivors of the Blitz” (Daily Mail). It was not just the upheaval caused by evacuation and the blitzes that changed a generation’s childhood, it was how war pervaded every aspect of life.
The Best in Children's Books
Language: en
Pages: 511
Authors: University of Chicago. Center for Children's Books
Categories: Reference
Type: BOOK - Published: 1986-08 - Publisher: University of Chicago Press

Provides an annotated list of fourteen hundred of the best children's books published between 1979 and 1984