Along the Shore

Along the Shore

Author: M. Jane Fairburn

Publisher: ECW Press

ISBN: 9781770903616

Page: 400

Download BOOK

“He said that he wanted it for a picnic grounds for families and he didn't want traffic of any kind to go through it which I think is one of the nice things about Kew Gardens. ... through trade and the movement of goods along the shore.

Bringing the Toronto lakefront to life, this survey presents the stories of a largely unrecognized and forgotten legacy. This book examines the Toronto waterfront, past and present, through the lens of four nearby districts—the Scarborough Bluffs, the Beach, the Island, and the Lakeshore (New Toronto, Mimico, Humber Bay, and Long Branch). A rich photographic journey supplements the history and explores the geography and landscape of these waterfront districts, revealing a thriving culture of people who relied upon Lake Ontario for survival. Anecdotal, descriptive, but also deeply personal, this is more than a local history, it is a layered trip into time and place.



More Books:

By the Shore
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Galaxy Craze
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-12-01 - Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

A young girl and her family come of age in this tender and suspenseful internationally acclaimed debut novel. In this bestselling debut novel “that captures perfectly the hopes and hurts of childhood,” twelve-year-old May lives in a struggling oceanfront bed-and-breakfast run by her loving if distracted single mother, Lucy, who
BY THE SEA, Book One: TESS
Language: en
Pages: 220
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-30 - Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg

In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era's Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring "City by the
Tait's Edinburgh Magazine
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1845 - Publisher:

Books about Tait's Edinburgh Magazine
The Family Magazine, Or Monthly Abstract of General Knowledge
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Antoinette Stockenberg
Categories: Periodicals
Type: BOOK - Published: 1835 - Publisher:

Books about The Family Magazine, Or Monthly Abstract of General Knowledge
A Topographical Dictionary of Wales
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Samuel Lewis
Categories: Wales
Type: BOOK - Published: 1843 - Publisher:

Books about A Topographical Dictionary of Wales