Truth and Lamentation

Truth and Lamentation

Author: Milton Teichman

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 025206335X

Page: 526

Download BOOK

The underlying beliefs of traditional lamentation literature are that Israel's suffering was caused by her sins , and that repentance and submission to God's just punishment could bring an end to suffering . Jewish writers lamenting the ...

The stories and poems in Truth and Lamentation, written during and after the Holocaust, reveal the human faces hidden behind the all-too-familiar statistics of the event. International in scope, this volume brings together 20 short stories and 90 poems commenting on the essentially incomprehensible nature of the Holocaust. Milton Teichman and Sharon Leder have drawn from a remarkably varied range of writers, representing nine languages and including both Jews and Gentiles. The contributors include the well known and the as yet unknown. A critical introduction places the selections within two broad categories of literary response to the Holocaust - truthtelling and lamentation. The first reflects the desire of writers to transmit multiple truths; the second expresses sorrow and loss.



More Books:

Truth and Lamentation
Language: en
Pages: 526
Authors: Milton Teichman, Sharon Leder
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994 - Publisher: University of Illinois Press

The stories and poems in Truth and Lamentation, written during and after the Holocaust, reveal the human faces hidden behind the all-too-familiar statistics of the event. International in scope, this volume brings together 20 short stories and 90 poems commenting on the essentially incomprehensible nature of the Holocaust. Milton Teichman
Lamentation
Language: fr
Pages: 958
Authors: C. J. Sansom
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-05 - Publisher:

Angleterre, 1546. Rien ne va plus au royaume des Tudors : alors qu'il s'apprête à pousser son dernier soupir, Henri VIII tente un ultime rapprochement avec le catholicisme. La chasse aux hérétiques protestants est de nouveau ouverte. Matthew Shardlake, le célèbre avocat, est alors contacté par Catherine Parr, sixième épouse
Lamentation
Language: en
Pages: 450
Authors: C. J. Sansom
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-23 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel's The Mirror and The Light, Matthew Shardlake is back in the sixth book in the Shardlake series, from number one bestselling author C. J. Sansom. 'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times ‘Sansom has the
Lamentation and Modernity in Literature, Philosophy, and Culture
Language: en
Pages: 233
Authors: R. Saunders
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-10-01 - Publisher: Springer

Saunders analyzes the ideological uses of loss in literary, philosophical, and social texts from the late 19th and 20th centuries through the lens of women's lament traditions and includes philosophical texts by Nietzsche, Heidegger, and Derrida; and literary works by William Faulkner, Stéphane Mallarmé, Dimitris Hatzis, and Tahar Ben Jelloun.
Divine Metaphors in Selected Hebrew Psalms of Lamentation
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Alec Basson
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher: Mohr Siebeck

In this book, Alec Basson examines the divine metaphors in a selection of biblical Hebrew Psalms of Lamentation from a cognitive-anthropological perspective. The study signals a move beyond the more traditional approaches to the Psalms and argues that the textual information in these poems is more than literary information as